Discover and stimulate your dominant chakra through yoga

Guide, Yoga | 2015-02-26 11:12:27

Discover and stimulate your dominant chakra through yoga

The EQ team helps you to see more clearly and to familiarize yourself with this ritual of relaxation based around the 7 chakras !

Yoga is sometimes better known in the west as a physical exercise and the spiritual principles that are the basis of this activity are sometimes put aside, forgetting that real purpose of yoga is the alliance of the body and the spirit for general well-being.
Born in India five millennia ago, yoga is based on several concepts, which include the chakras – the energy centres that are at the heart of the practice of yoga.
The EQ team helps you to see more clearly and to familiarize yourself with this ritual of relaxation based around the 7 chakras with the outstanding print of our EQ yoga mat.
Discover your dominant chakra to achieve perfect harmony through the practice of specific asanas that will allow you to better respond to your daily problems and accompany you throughout your personal development.

Derived from the Sanskrit word for wheel or disk, the term Chakra first appeared in the traditional writings of Hindu philosophical beliefs.
These chakras were perceived as the spiritual and energetic centres of our body, representing the stages of the progression of the Kundalini, in other words of the awakening of the self-consciousness by the mastery of these energies.
Forming a light column along the spine, they are said to have the function of regulating the energies between the different parts of our body.

A total of 7, they are precise points located close to an organ, nerve or gland. These points have paramount influence on several levels of our being, including our conscience as well as our physical health.
Breathing exercises, meditation, asanas and mantras (other major principles of yoga) allow you to activate them and to better understand our common disorders.
According to the Indian tradition, it is said that each chakra is a source of secret dormant powers associated with one aspect of the conscience and the practice of specific yoga postures is recommended to solicit it.

Chakras are perceived as the spiritual and energetic centres of our body

Muladhara: base chakra

Near the perineum, this chakra represents stabilising and rooting energy.
It connects us with the earth and allows us to keep a link with the real. It is also the area of our basic instinctive impulses. If this chakra lacks energy, we risk to become anxious and to lack will-power through the loss of self-confidence.
Among the asanas that stimulate it are the Eagle Pose (Garudasana) and the Warrior Pose (Virabhadrasana).

Svadhisthana: source of vitality, knowledge and creativity.

Situated near the sacrum, this chakra is related to the creative faculties and emotions as well as being the centre of the sexual energy. Working on this energy centre will allow you to be in contact with your emotions and develop greater sensitivity and empathy toward others.
Several asanas, such as the Triangle in Rotation (Parivrtta), the Camel (Ustrasana) or even the Cat Pose (Vyaghrasana) will be particularly effective to activate it.

Anahata: centre of emotions.

This chakra, located at the centre of the chest, is related to the heart. It is at the junction of the three physical chakras (Muladhara, Svadhisthana and Manipura) and of the three so-called « superior » chakras (Vishuddhi, Ajna and Sahasrara). Representing vulnerability and the deep need to be loved, it has specific importance in yoga since it is connected to the respiratory system. The Tree (Vrikshasana) and the Bow (Dhanurasana) poses are recommended.

Vishuddha: our deep personality.

Located in the hollow of the throat, this chakra is the centre of intuitive communication and the expression of our inner voice. The most effective poses for its fulfilment are the Lion (Simhasana), the Downward Facing Dog (Adho-Mukha Svanasana) and the Half-Bridge poses (Setu Bandhasana), as well as the Shoulderstand (Sarvangasana).

Ajna : centre spirituel et siège de l’âme

En rapport avec notre vision du réel et l’intuition Ajna est situé au milieu du front et représente l’intellect.
Décrit comme étant le troisième œil, c’est le chakra de la clairvoyance et nous aide à devenir conscient de nos parts d’ombre. La posture du lion (Simhasana), la tête de vache (Gomukhasana) et la posture du sage Matsyendra permettront de le solliciter.

Sahasrara: crown of awakening chakra.

Meaning « chakra of the thousand petals » it is located in the top of the skull and corresponds to the culmination of the deployment of the Kundalini. This is the capacity to transform abstract ideas into concrete form.
A yogi who succeeds in raising their energy to this level reaches a state of bliss and a perfectly pure conscience. The Headstand (Sirsasana) and the Shoulderstand (Sarvangasana) are recommended.

Manipura: seat of the transmission of the conscience.

Situated just below the navel, this chakra governs digestion. Associated with the ego, working on this chakra leads to wisdom. It is also at the centre of the intuitions that govern our choices and influence the metabolism, which include psychological and emotional energy.
The main poses that stimulate it are the Sphinx (Makarasana), the Fish (Matsyasana) or the Cow Face (Gomukasana) poses.


More info about the EQ yoga mat:

The EQ yoga mat is made from a newly developed and patented material called TPE foam (Thermal Plastic Elastomer). The mat contains no latex, PVC or rubber. No toxic material is used in its production and it is fully recyclable.

1886 Total Views 1 Views Today
Share :